The six-strong shortlist for the 2021 Best Published Novel award was:

Why not download a copy of the shortlist poster to show your support and share in your library, bookshop, or in your living room window?


Download in A4

Download in A3

The Foundation encourages readers to select the one that appeals to them most, then read, share and recommend. 

'Most of 2020 was a challenging time for all of us, including booksellers and publishers around the world. This said, we at the Foundation have an utmost respect for the authors, publishers and agents in their continued drive to reach readers in new ways. We are fortunate to work with a team of dedicated and passionate librarians and library staff to help select the shortlist.

These shortlisted novels are thrilling, sometimes witty, and will make you weep. There are so many emotions brilliantly put to paper in all these books that they are guaranteed to keep you up at night. Read one and it will present you with a fresh take on the world, read all six and the power of adventure will sweep you off your feet.'

- Niso Smith, Founder of The Wilbur & Niso Smith Foundation

A further six authors were longlisted for the award:


Ali Bryan THE HILL (Dottir Press)

David Gilman THE ENGLISHMAN (Head of Zeus)

Kim Hughes OPERATION CERTAIN DEATH (Simon & Schuster UK)

Lawrence Osborne THE GLASS KINGDOM (Hogarth)

Jess Walter THE COLD MILLIONS (Viking)

You can also download a copy of the longlist poster below:


Download in A4

Download in A3

Read more about the titles listed in 2021 here