The 2018 Wilbur Smith Adventure Writing Prize opens next week. Our trustees made the decision earlier in the year to raise the stakes and increased the prizes across the categories. We are sure the five-strong panel of judges will have to make the most challenging decisions yet. 

Steve Winter, National Geographic Photographer, and Kevin Conroy Scott, Literary Agent, join the panel for the third time, and Alex Crawford, Sky News Foreign Correspondent, for the second. They will be joined by Zimbabwean Olympian, Kirsty Coventry and 2016 winner of Best Published Manuscript for Under a Pole Star, Stef Penney.

2018 Judges
Clockwise from top left: Stef Penney, Steve Winter, Alex Crawford, Kevin Conroy Scott and Kirsty Coventry

We are thrilled to have such a strong judging panel who bring together the different experience and expertise necessary to know what adventure and adventure writing really means. To read the 2018 judges' full biographies, please visit the Judges page.

Submissions will be open 20th November 2017 - 12th March 2018 under the following categories: 

- Best Published Manuscript: £15,000

- Best Unpublished Manuscript: £7,500 Writer's Adventure Research Award and a mentoring relationship with Wilbur's agents at Tibor Jones & Associates

- Author of Tomorrow: £1,500 and digital publication with our partner, Worldreader

You can find more details and a link to the submission criteria on our Awards page. For further enquiries, please email