The Wilbur Smith Adventure Writing Prize is an international book prize that supports and celebrates the best adventure writing today. 

First awarded in 2016, the Prize presents awards in three categories: Best Published Novel, Best Unpublished Manuscript and Author of Tomorrow (age 21 and under). The Prize is open to writers of any nationality, writing in English.

Submissions for the all categories are now closed for 2019.

Key Dates for 2019

Best Published Novel longlist announced: 2nd May 2019

Best Published Novel shortlist announced: 15th May 2019

Best Unpublished Manuscript shortlist announced: 29th May 2019

Author of Tomorrow shortlist announced: 16th July 2019, postponed to 19th July due to a high level of submissions. 

Winners announced: 12th September 2019

Sign up to our mailing list to be kept up to date with all news relating to the Adventure Writing Prize. 

Previous winners:

The award for Best Published Novel 2018 went to Abir Mukherjee for A Necessary Evil. The Prize was awarded at a special ceremony at London's Stationers' Hall in September 2018. 

Niso Smith awarding the trophy and £15,000 for Best Published Novel to Abir Mukherjee. The trophy was accepted by Noor Sufi on behalf of Abir Mukherjee.

2018 Shortlist

Meet the author: Rory Clements

Meet the author: Jane Harris

Meet the author: Tyler Keevil

Meet the author: Abir Mukherjee

Meet the author: Maggie Ritchie 

Meet the author: James Wilde

You can find details on more of the past winners here.