The Wilbur and Niso Smith Foundation is delighted to announce the shortlist for the inaugural £10,000 Wilbur Smith Adventure Writing Prize.

The shortlisted titles are as follows:

  • Corban Addison THE TEARS OF DARK WATER (Quercus)
  • Manda Scott INTO THE FIRE (Bantam)
  • Roger Hobbs VANISHING GAMES (Corgi)
  • Ben Kane EAGLES AT WAR (Arrow)
  • Andy McDermott THE REVELATION CODE (Headline)  
  • Simon Scarrow BRITANNIA (Headline)

The £10,000 first prize will be awarded at an event at the Royal Geographical Society in May 2016 to a published novel that best captures the spirit of adventure writing.

An expert judging panel, including MNEK, Grammy-nominated British singer, songwriter and record producer, Levison Wood, adventurer and author, Steve Winter, acclaimed wildlife photographer, and Kevin Conroy Scott, Creative Director at Tibor Jones & Associates, will decide the winner of the first prize.

Niso Smith, Founder of the Wilbur and Niso Smith Foundation says: “The Wilbur and Niso Smith Foundation was created to allow us to share our love of adventure writing with the world. Over the years, we have travelled together through Africa, Asia, Europe and the Americas, and in every country and culture we have found storytellers weaving tales of adventure. The foundation’s aim is to aim is to introduce true talent from across the globe to the reading world.”

She continues: “The first stage of our mission will be to award an annual prize for adventure writing – the Wilbur Smith Adventure Award. The next stage will be to reach out to writers and readers across the world, bringing the spirit of adventure into their lives and inspiring them to undertake their own journeys of discovery. More than anything we want the Wilbur and Niso Smith Foundation to be an organisation that uplifts, inspires and educates.”

For more information on the Wilbur and Niso Smith Foundation, visit