We are delighted to announce the names for two additional prizes. These are:

Best Unpublished Adventure Manuscript

Kirsten Miller - THE HUM OF THE SUN
Stanley Gazemba - KHAMA
Mark Isherwood - DUTCH
Zirk van den Berg - STARLIGHT & STONE

The winner of the prize for the best unpublished manuscript will be offered the opportunity of a creative writing residency at the University of Cape Town and career guidance from Wilbur Smith’s literary agent Kevin Conroy Scott.

Author of Tomorrow Award

Alex Atkinson - JUNGLE GOLD
Rory Hinshelwood - AND WITH THE WIND IT WENT
Alice Sargent - CHEROKEE ROSE

The winner of the author of tomorrow award (for the best adventure short story under 5000 words, written by someone between the ages of 12 and 21) will receive £1000 pounds sterling.

The prizes will be awarded at a prestigious event, hosted by the BBC's Kate Silverton, at the Royal Geographical Society on the 12th of May 2016.

The shortlist for the £10000 first prize was announced earlier this month:

Corban Addison - THE TEARS OF DARK WATER (Quercus)
Manda Scott - INTO THE FIRE (Bantam)
Roger Hobbs - VANISHING GAMES (Corgi)
Ben Kane - EAGLES AT WAR (Arrow)
Andy McDermott - THE REVELATION CODE (Headline)  
Simon Scarrow - BRITANNIA (Headline)

Niso Smith, Founder of the Wilbur and Niso Smith Foundation says: “The Wilbur and Niso Smith Foundation was created to allow us to share our love of adventure writing with the world. Over the years, we have travelled together through Africa, Asia, Europe and the Americas, and in every country and culture we have found storytellers weaving tales of adventure. The foundation’s aim is to aim is to introduce true talent from across the globe to the reading world.