Three contemporary and three historical novels make the 2022 Wilbur Smith Adventure Writing Prize shortlist. They are:

The following six authors are all in the running for the £10,000 prize. Click on each of their names to find out more about the book and read an interview with the author: 

Submissions were open to writers of any nationality, writing in English. Authors from Nigeria, Canada, the UK and UK/Norway are represented on the shortlist, the six being selected from a total of 129 submissions.

Niso Smith, Founder, commented:

‘It’s uplifting to see debut and established authors alike embracing their sense of adventure. Adventures are about growth and living in the moment, and these authors all transport us to a specific moment in time. Whether we’re skiing in the bitter cold of northern Norway, or sailing up China’s Yangtze River, our disbelief is magically suspended.
The authors demonstrate determination, show us true jeopardy, pique our curiosity and allow us to form a human connection with their characters. Congratulations to all six for these riveting novels.’

The Prize works with a panel of librarians and library staff from across the UK to select the shortlist which focuses on ‘An Adventure for Everyone.’ The Foundation encourages readers to select the one that appeals to them most, then read, share and recommend. Readers can download the shortlist poster here and share with their library, bookshop, or in their living room window.

These six titles are now with this year's judging panel. As part of an online campaign over the summer months, you will be invited to participate in the Reader's Vote, which will see the readers' votes equate to one seat on the judging panel. The campaign will also include a series of online author events plus engagement opportunities for libraries and reading groups.

Read what the idea of adventure means to the judges here

The winner of the Best Published Novel will be revealed on 21st September 2022 at an online awards ceremony. Keep up to date with all activity in the meantime via our twitter @Wilbur_Niso_Fdn.