It gives us enormous pleasure to announce the winners of the inaugural 2016 Wilbur Smith Adventure Writing Prize.

The winners are as follows:

Winner of the Author of Tomorrow Award:


Alex Atkinson JUNGLE GOLD

Winner of the Best Unpublished Adventure Manuscript:

Kirsten Miller THE HUM OF THE SUN

Winner of the £10 000 Wilbur Smith Adventure Writing Prize:

Corban Addison THE TEARS OF DARK WATER (Quercus)

An expert judging panel, including MNEK, Grammy-nominated British singer, songwriter and record producer, Levison Wood, adventurer and author, Steve Winter, acclaimed wildlife photographer, and Kevin Conroy Scott, Creative Director at Tibor Jones & Associates, decided the winner of the first prize.

Niso Smith, Founder of the Wilbur and Niso Smith Foundation says: “The Wilbur and Niso Smith Foundation was created to allow us to share our love of adventure writing with the world. Over the years, we have travelled together through Africa, Asia, Europe and the Americas, and in every country and culture we have found storytellers weaving tales of adventure. The foundation’s aim is to introduce true talent from across the globe to the reading world.

She continues: “The first stage of our mission will be to award an annual prize for adventure writing – the Wilbur Smith Adventure Award. The next stage will be to reach out to writers and readers across the world, bringing the spirit of adventure into their lives and inspiring them to undertake their own journeys of discovery. More than anything we want the Wilbur and Niso Smith Foundation to be an organisation that uplifts, inspires and educates.