The Wilbur Smith Adventure Writing Prize is an international book prize that supports and celebrates the best adventure writing today. 

First awarded in 2016, the Prize presents awards in three categories: Best Published Novel, Best Unpublished Manuscript and Author of Tomorrow (age 21 and under). The Prize is open to writers of any nationality, writing in English.

Submissions open: 7th January - 1st March 2019

You will be able to enter here: 


You will need an email address to set up a Submittable account before you can enter the Prize. You can set up an account at any time. The portal to send us your entry will not be available until 7th January.

Key Dates for 2019 - Best Published Novel and Best Unpublished Manuscript: 

Submissions open: 7th January - 1st March 2019

The submission portal will go live on 7th January 2019 and close at midnight on 1st March 2019. We recommend sending your entries early. 

Published shortlist announced: 15th May 2019

Unpublished shortlist announced: 29th May 2019

Winners announced: 12th September 2019

You can read the full criteria here

To receive a reminder and be kept up to date with all news relating to the Adventure Writing Prize, you can sign up to our mailing list.

Previous winners:

The award for Best Published Novel 2018 went to Abir Mukherjee for A Necessary Evil. The Prize was awarded at a special ceremony at London's Stationers' Hall in September 2018. 

Niso Smith awarding the trophy and £15,000 for Best Published Novel to Abir Mukherjee. The trophy was accepted by Noor Sufi on behalf of Abir Mukherjee.

2018 Shortlist

Meet the author: Rory Clements

Meet the author: Jane Harris

Meet the author: Tyler Keevil

Meet the author: Abir Mukherjee

Meet the author: Maggie Ritchie 

Meet the author: James Wilde

You can find details on more of the past winners here.