Author of Tomorrow

The Author of Tomorrow is designed to find the adventure writers of the future. Part of the Wilbur Smith Adventure Writing Prize, it is an annual competition open to young people across the world who have completed a short piece of adventure writing in English.

Prizes are awarded in three age categories and the winners for 2019 were: 

11 and Under | Prize: £100 plus £150 book tokens for your school

The Midnight Zone by Ewan Hart (age 9)

12-15 years | Prize: £100 plus £150 book tokens for your school

The Lament of Orphia by Eshana Dasanjh (age 15)

16-21 years | Prize: £1,000

An Adventure at Sea by Meg Lintern (age 16)

In 2019, Wilbur and Niso Smith also offered a special commendation to Cold by Ryan Bridges (age 18).

Each shortlisted author also has their work digitally published by our partners at global literacy charity, Worldreader

The 2020 Author of Tomorrow will open for submissions on 5th March 2020.