The Wilbur and Niso Smith Foundation is delighted to announce that four talented young writers have been shortlisted for the 2017 Author of Tomorrow. The writers are:


Alex Atkinson FREEDOM STORM (Belize)

Wilbur Bryant Dublin THE SAFEHOUSE CAFÉ (Malaysia)

Frederick Morgan SIR HOP (UK)

Charlotte Williams THE HELOTS’ REVENGE (UK)

The Author of Tomorrow is one element of the Wilbur Smith Adventure Writing Prize, created to encourage young people, aged 21 years and under to explore writing in the adventure genre. All entrants were required to submit a short adventure story under 5,000 words.

The Author of Tomorrow award was created in partnership with Worldreader, a global non-profit on a mission to create a world where everyone is a reader. Through this partnership, the four shortlisted authors will be offered the opportunity to have their stories digitally published in the Worldreader Open Library, accessed by readers in 50 countries across the world. The Author of Tomorrow winner will also receive a prize of £1,000 sterling from The Wilbur and Niso Smith Foundation.

Niso Smith, Founder of The Wilbur and Niso Smith Foundation, says:

“We see the Prize as an incubator for aspiring adventure writers – there is so much potential in this shortlist. We are thrilled that the youngest writer shortlisted is just 16-years old.

By partnering with Worldreader, we hope the Author of Tomorrow award will raise the profile of adventure writing and contribute to the fight to increase global literacy levels. We want to help young people learn to read and write, but also to enjoy reading and writing – what better way to encourage that than through adventure?"

“A billion people worldwide are held back by illiteracy, low literacy and lack of access to books,” says Worldreader Co-Founder Colin McElwee. “We are proud to partner with the Wilbur and Niso Smith Foundation to deliver the winning stories from the Author of Tomorrow contest to thousands of readers via the Worldreader mobile app. We hope the Prize will help to inspire and unlock the potential of young readers and writers around the world.”

The winner will be announced at an awards ceremony in September 2017, at London’s Royal Geographical Society, alongside the winner of the Wilbur Smith Adventure Writing Prize, published and best unpublished manuscript awards.

To read the 2016 Author of Tomorrow stories, download the Worldreader app or visit on a mobile or tablet and search Wilbur Smith as publisher.

For more information on The Wilbur and Niso Smith Foundation, visit